ANNUAL COUNCIL

MINUTES of the Meeting held in the Main Hall, UK Paper Leisure Club, Avenue of Remembrance, Sittingbourne, Kent, ME10 4DE on Tuesday, 19 May 2015 from 7.00 - 8.30 pm.

PRESENT: Councillors Cameron Beart, Bobbin, Andy Booth, Tina Booth, Lloyd Bowen, Bowles, Roger Clark, Katy Coleman, Derek Conway, Mike Cosgrove, Adrian Crowther, Mike Dendor, Duncan Dewar-Whalley, Paul Fleming, Mick Galvin, Nicholas Hampshire. James Hall. Harrison. Mike Henderson. Sue Gent. James Hunt, Lesley Ingham (Deputy Mayor), Ken Ingleton, Nigel Kay. Gerry Lewin, Samuel Koffie-Williams, Bryan Mulhern, Prescott, Ken Pugh, George Samuel, Anita Walker (Mayor), Ghlin Whelan, Mike Whiting, Ted Wilcox and John Wright.

OFFICERS PRESENT: Philippa Davies, Heather Elliott, Abdool Kara, and Kellie MacKenzie.

APOLOGIES: Councillors Mike Baldock, Monique Bonney, Mark Ellen and David Simmons

1 MINUTE'S SILENCE

A minute's silence was held in memory of Mr Nick Williams, former Member for Murston Ward, Sittingbourne.

2 PRAYERS

The Retiring Mayor's Chaplain the Reverend Jean Burrows opened the meeting with a prayer.

3 PRESENTATION TO HONORARY ALDERMEN AND HONORARY ALDERWOMAN

Mr Alan Willicombe

Councillor Bowles proposed and Councillor Gerry Lewin seconded that Mr Alan Willicombe be awarded the title of Honorary Alderman.

Upon being put to the vote and agreed unanimously, the retiring Mayor presented Mr Alan Willicombe with a scroll and plaque to reflect this honour, and Mr Willicombe gave a speech in recognition of this award.

Resolved:

(1) That this Council, in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, as amended, confer upon Mr Alan Willicombe the title of Honorary Alderman, in recognition of the valuable service given to the Council by Mr Alan Willicombe as a past Member of the Council.

Annual Council 19 May 2015

Mrs Jean Willicombe

Councillor Bowles proposed and Councillor Bryan Mulhern seconded that Mrs Jean Willicombe be awarded the title of Honorary Alderwoman.

Upon being put to the vote and agreed unanimously, the retiring Mayor presented Mrs Jean Willicombe with a scroll, plaque, and flowers to reflect this honour.

(2) That this Council, in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, as amended, confer upon Mrs Jean Willicombe the title of Honorary Alderwoman, in recognition of the valuable service given to the Council by Mrs Jean Willicombe as a past Member of the Council.

Mr Steve Worrall

Councillor Harrison proposed and Councillor Roger Truelove seconded that Mr Steve Worrall be awarded the title of Honorary Alderman.

Upon being put to the vote and agreed unanimously, the retiring Mayor presented Mr Steve Worrall with a scroll and plaque and Past Mayoress Mrs Therese Davies with flowers to reflect this honour, and Mr Worrall gave a speech in recognition of this award.

(3) That this Council, in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, as amended, confer upon Mr Steve Worrall the title of Honorary Alderman, in recognition of the valuable service given to the Council by Mr Steve Worrall a past Member of the Council.

4 PRESENTATION TO PAST MEMBERS

The Chief Executive presented scrolls to Sylvia Bennett, David Sargent, Adam Tolhurst and Tony Winckless. Councillor Harrison collected scrolls on behalf of Jackie and Mick Constable, Honorary Alderwoman Cindy Davis collected a scroll on behalf of John Coulter, Councillor Sue Gent collected scrolls on behalf of Mr Ed Gent, and Mrs Pat Sandle and Councillor Roger Truelove collected scrolls on behalf of Mr Martin McCusker and the late Mr Nick Williams respectively.

At this point Councillor Roger Truelove spoke in memory of Mr Nick Williams, Borough Councillor for Murston Ward from 2007 to 2015, recalling that he had been a dedicated and hard working Member.

5 APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR

The retiring Mayor advised that the decision to appoint a Mayor elect had been taken at the Council meeting on 18 February 2015, where it had been resolved that Councillor Anita Walker be elected Mayor for the civic year 2015/16.

Councillor Ben Stokes spoke to endorse the decision to elect Councillor Anita Walker as Mayor. Councillor Sue Gent seconded the endorsement with a speech.

Annual Council 19 May 2015

The Mayor read out and signed her Declaration of Acceptance of Office and was presented with her badge of office and flowers. **Resolved:**

(1) That the decision made at the Council meeting on 18 February 2015 to elect Councillor Anita Walker as Mayor for the 2015/16 civic year be endorsed.

6 FORTHCOMING MAYORAL YEAR

The Mayor thanked Members for her election as Mayor and introduced her Mayoress, Mrs Sylvia Lawrence. She advised that her four chosen charities would be Sheerness Carnival Club, Sittingbourne Carnival Club, Teynham Carnival Club, and Faversham Carnival Club.

7 VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING MAYOR

Councillor Andy Booth proposed and Councillor Bryan Mulhern seconded a vote of thanks to Councillor Bobbin for his work as Mayor.

The Mayor presented Councillor Bobbin with a civic shield and scroll, a past Mayor's badge, and mementos of his term of office, and flowers to his daughter-in-law Mrs Lorraine Bobbin on behalf of Mrs Brenda Bobbin.

The retiring Mayor made a speech in response. He advised that he had attended 300 engagements, noting as particularly memorable the commemoration events held for the World War One Victoria Cross recipients Major Donald Dean and Colonel Philip Neame, and his trip with young people to the Menin Gate, Ypres, to commemorate Armistice Day and visits to Tyne Cot and other War Cemeteries.

The retiring Mayor then presented Petty Officer Cadet Shaun Lock, from the Sheppey Sea Cadet Unit, the Mayor's PA, and the Civic Attendant with gifts.

8 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor advised that the decision to appoint a Deputy Mayor elect had been taken at the Council meeting on 18 February 2015, where it was resolved that Councillor Lesley Ingham be elected Deputy Mayor for the civic year 2015/16.

Councillor Derek Conway spoke to endorse the decision to elect Councillor Lesley Ingham as Deputy Mayor. Councillor Ken Pugh seconded the endorsement with a speech.

The Deputy Mayor read out and signed her Declaration of Acceptance of Office and was presented with her badge of office.

Resolved:

(1) That the decision made at Council on 18 February 2015 to elect Councillor Lesley Ingham as Deputy Mayor for the civic year 2015/16 be endorsed.

Annual Council 19 May 2015

9 APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CADET

The Mayor announced that she would be appointing Able Cadet Jamie Brown of Sheppey Sea Cadets as the Mayor's Cadet, and presented him with a cadet badge for his uniform.

10 APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

The Mayor announced that she would be appointing Reverend Simon Rowlands as her Chaplain for the forthcoming civic year.

11 CONCLUDING PRAYERS

In the absence of the Mayor's Chaplain, Reverend Simon Rowlands, the Reverend Ros Parrett concluded the meeting with prayers.

The Mayor reminded Members that the second part of the Annual Council meeting would be held the following evening starting at 7pm in the Council Chamber, Swale House. She then invited all Members and quests to join her for light refreshments.

Chairman

Copies of this document are available on the Council website http://www.swale.gov.uk/dso/. If you would like hard copies or alternative versions (i.e. large print, audio, different language) we will do our best to accommodate your request please contact Swale Borough Council at Swale House, East Street, Sittingbourne, Kent, ME10 3HT or telephone the Customer Service Centre 01795 417850.

All Minutes are draft until agreed at the next meeting of the Committee/Panel